BRANCH South Tyneside
St. Hilda’s Visitor Centre,
Market Place,
SOUTH SHIELDS,
Tyne and Wear, NE33 1AN
Contact: GERRY LANGLEY
Email: southtynesidebranch@ndfhs.org.uk

Meetings on 3rd Wednesday in the month at 1.30 p.m.
(No meeting in July & August)

Next Meeting: Wed.  20th September 2017  ‘Members Forum , How honest were our Forebears’

 

 



BRANCH MEETINGS FOR 2017-18


PAST EVENTS


 

  • Wednesday 19th March 2014, “The Caped Crusaders, A new look at the Jarrow march” (Anthea Lang)
  • Wednesday 16th April 2014, “Witches and Witchcraft in the Newcastle Area” (Dr Jo Bath)
  • Wednesday 21st May 2014, AGM and Crime and Punishment (Geoff Nicholson)
  • Wednesday 18th June 2014, Visit to Victoria Tunnel Newcastle
  • Wednesday 17th September 2014, Member’s Forum and Beginners Evening
  • Wednesday 15 October 2014, “Deaths, Diseases & Dastardly Deeds” (Anthea Lang)
  • Wednesday 19th November 2014, “Chirupula Stephenson, Tyneside’s African Legend” (Dr John Heckles)
  • Wednesday 10th December 2014, “Useful Northumberland & Durham Websites” (John Stobbs)
  • Wednesday 21st January 2015, Wartime family Photographs, and what they mean in the family
  • Wednesday 18th February 2015, “The Durham Wills Project” (Douglas Burdon)
  • Wednesday 18th March 2015, “Down by the Riverside” (Freda Thompson)
  • Wednesday 15th April 2015, “Woodbine Willie” (Wendy Stafford)
  • Wednesday 20th May 2015, “Mining Memories” (Barry Mead)
  • Wednesday 17th June 2015, Visit to Percy House
  • August 2015 – No meeting
  • Wednesday 16th September 2015, Members’ Forum & Beginners’ Question Time
  • Wednesday 18th November 2015, “Jack the Ripper & North East Associations” (Norman Kirtlan)

 


Branch Reports

 

Wednesday 15th March 2017

We had 12 people (members and possible returning members) attend the meeting on Wednesday 15th March 2017 with 2 apologies.

The speaker was Branch member Ann Franklin who talked about her own family history research into the Hurlbutt Family. This started with a brief resume of how there was a possible link to the Pequot Indian War in 1637, and how William Hurlbutt had left his home in Connecticut and settled in North Shields.  The talk then centred on the life and family of William’s son, Andrew Hinman Hurlbutt who having somewhat of an eventful career in both the merchant services and the R.N.V.R. during WW1,  went back across the Atlantic to settle in Canada.

 


Last updated 21st March 2017